The influence of crystal structure on ion-irradiation tolerance in the Sm(x)Yb(2-x)TiO5 series

No Thumbnail Available
Journal Title
Journal ISSN
Volume Title
Elsevier B.V.
This ion-irradiation study covers the four major crystal structure types in the Ln2TiO5 series (Ln = lanthanide), namely orthorhombic Pnma, hexagonal P63/mmc, cubic (pyrochlore-like) Fd-3m and cubic (fluorite-like) Fm-3m. This is the first systematic examination of the complete Ln2TiO5 crystal system and the first reported examination of the hexagonal structure. A series of samples, based on the stoichiometry Sm(x)Yb(2-x)TiO5 (where x = 2, 1.4, 1, 0.6, and 0) have been irradiated using 1 MeV Kr2+ ions and characterised in-situ using a transmission electron microscope. Two quantities are used to define ion-irradiation tolerance: critical dose of amorphisation (Dc), which is the irradiating ion dose required for a crystalline to amorphous transition, and the critical temperature (Tc), above which the sample cannot be rendered amorphous by ion irradiation. The structure type plus elements of bonding are correlated to ion-irradiation tolerance. The cubic phases, Yb2TiO5 and Sm0.6Yb1.4TiO5, were found to be the most radiation tolerant, with Tc values of 479 and 697 K respectively. The improved radiation tolerance with a change in symmetry to cubic is consistent with previous studies of similar compounds. © 2016 Elsevier B.V.
Irradiation, Crystal structure, Stoichiometry, Amorphous state, Orthorhombic lattices, Electron microscopy
Aughterson, R. D., Lumpkin, G. R., de los Reyes, M., Gault, B., Baldo, P., Ryan, E., Whittle, K. R., Smith, K, L., & Cairney, J. M. (2016). The influence of crystal structure on ion-irradiation tolerance in the Sm(x)Yb(2-x)TiO 5 series. Journal of Nuclear Materials, 471, 17-24. doi:10.1016/j.jnucmat.2015.12.036